Home Campus News Loyalist College Receives Recognition Through BEAC

Loyalist College Receives Recognition Through BEAC

June 02, 2011

The Broadcast Educators Association of Canada (BEAC) presented the 2011 National Awards at the annual conference in Victoria, BC on May 28th. Media students from colleges and universities across Canada competed for the prestigious honours. Loyalist College students in the Television and New Media Production, and Animation programs received three awards in recognition of the unique combination of creativity and technical excellence reflected in their work.

The winning entry in the Music Video category was Starting Again produced by Television and New Media Production students Paul Duck, Paul Raymond, Mitch Haigh and Ryan Hiuser. The video featuring Ontario-based band Oh! The Scenery was shot on location in the former Batawa shoe factory. Animation student Emma Courtney won in the Animation category with Forever – a powerful short that perceptively captures what it is to be human, what it means to be loved, and how love ultimately heals. The Best Commercial or Promo award went to Darker Side of Gray, a stylized television introductory sequence produced by Television and New Media Production student Dillon Hodgin. Dillon, who is currently working for CBC Sports in British Columbia with the production team for the Stanley Cup Finals, attended the awards ceremony in Victoria.

“I felt truly honoured to represent my group – and also my college,” said Dillon Hodgin.  “The faculty at Loyalist taught me the skills and professionalism that I needed to get my dream job.  The BEAC Award was the icing on the cake. I was able to use this opportunity to network with other students and faculty from across Canada.  The awards ceremony experience was truly fantastic.”

“The Television and New Media Production students at Loyalist have had many successes in the national BEAC competition, particularly in the production of music videos, and it is great to see that this continues,” said Jane Harrison, Dean of Media Studies. “I am delighted that our Animation students won this year as well and I’m confident this marks the beginning of ongoing success for them at the BEAC awards.”

“Our students’ work continues to impress,” said Kathleen Bazkur, Television and New Media Production program coordinator. “We’re delighted that their productions have received these awards.  The recognition from winning a national competition from an organization such as the BEAC is a great testament to their talent and hard work, and bodes well for their careers that lie ahead.”

“We consistently see the achievements of Loyalist students recognized at the national level,” said Loyalist College President Maureen Piercy. “The BEAC awards are another validation of the positive impact of the commitment to excellence that our students and faculty bring to their work.”

For information about the Loyalist College School of Media Studies programs click here.

– 30 –

Media Contact: Marilyn Warren, Communications, Loyalist College (613) 969-1913, ext. 2332, email: or Jane Harrison, Dean of Media Studies, (613) 969-1913, ext. 2437