Home News Release Loyalist College Hosts Annual Undergraduate Awards Evening

Loyalist College Hosts Annual Undergraduate Awards Evening

November 28, 2007

On November 15th, 264 awards were presented to Loyalist students at the annual Undergraduate Awards Reception.  The $164,281 presented was made possible by individual donors, organizations, and The Loyalist College Foundation.

Loyalist College President Maureen Piercy commented that, “This is a very special year of celebration for Loyalist as it is our 40th anniversary of serving students and our communities. Times when we recognize the achievements of our students, as we do on this evening, are always wonderful opportunities to celebrate.” 

College Chair Bob Cottrell joined with Foundation Chair June Surgey in thanking donors for their support of Loyalist College students. “We know that financial assistance makes a difference to many of you as you continue with your post-secondary education – and that’s why we’re involved.  On behalf of the Foundation, and my fellow directors, thank you to the many donors who have made this evening possible;  thank you so much for your generosity,” said Mrs. Surgey.

Awards and bursaries provide financial assistance to help Loyalist students attain their academic goals. New awards presented this year included:  the Ben Murphy Bursary, the Child & Youth Worker Students’ Choice Awards, the Ferris Scholarship Fund Bursary, the Guy Weese Memorial Bursary, The Loyalist College Foundation Directors Bursary, the Quinte Area Business Award, and The Quinte Children’s Homes Child & Youth Worker Award.

The Loyalist College Foundation provides support for Loyalist College programs and students.  Many of the bursaries presented at Awards Night are provided through the Foundation endowment.  Currently, donations to the endowment for student financial assistance are matched by the provincial government through the Ontario Trust for Student Support (OTSS) program.  For more information, please contact the Foundation office at (613) 969-1913, ext. 2235.

– 30 –

Media Contact:   Dianne Spencer, College Advancement & External Relations, (613) 969-1913, ext. 2235; e-mail: