

Summary of the SPECIAL meeting of the BOARD OF GOVERNORS June 3, 2010 at 5:20 p.m. Kente Building

Board Members: Kay Manderville, Chair Maureen Piercy, President

Barbara Brant Glen LeClair

Pat Dockrill Susan Scarborough

John FitzpatrickBrian SmithKirk FlemingJohn WilliamsColin HughesScott WilliamsTamara KleinschmidtStuart Wright

Regrets: Bob Cottrell, Tony Orrick, Jake Van Rooy, Margaret Werkhoven

Staff: Elaine Wilkinson, Recording Secretary

KEY POINTS/ACTION REQUIRED	FOLLOW-UP RESPONSIBILITY
Vice Chair Manderville Chaired the proceedings in the absence of Chair Werkhoven.	
ELECTION OF CHAIR – BOARD OF GOVERNORS	
Vice Chair Manderville advised that one nomination had been received for the position of Chair: Governor Stuart Wright.	
Vice Chair Manderville called for nominations from the floor three times.	
There being no further nominations, Governor Wright was declared elected by acclamation to the position of Chair of the Board.	

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR POSITIONS

Vice Chair Manderville advised that two nominations had been received for the two Vice Chair positions: Governors Colin Hughes and Susan Scarborough.

Vice Chair Manderville called for nominations from the floor three times.

There being no further nominations, Governors Hughes and Scarborough were declared elected by acclamation to the positions of Vice Chair, Board of Governors.

ELECTION, CHAIR, ACADEMIC, STUDENT AFFAIRS AND ADVOCACY COMMITTEE

Vice Chair Manderville advised that one nomination had been received for this position: Governor Scott Williams.

Vice Chair Manderville called for nominations from the floor three times.

There being no further nominations, Governor Williams was declared elected by acclamation to the position of Chair, Academic, Student Affairs and Advocacy Committee.

ELECTION, CHAIR, FINANCE, PERSONNEL AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Vice Chair Manderville advised that one nomination had been received for this position, Governor Tamara Kleinschmidt.

Vice Chair Manderville called for nominations from the floor three times.

There being no further nominations, Governor Kleinschmidt was declared elected by acclamation to the position of Chair, Finance, Corporate Services and Governance Committee.

Resolution # 1

Moved by: Kirk Fleming Seconded by: Brian Smith

AND carried, "That the nomination forms for election of officers be destroyed."

Congratulations were extended to the elected officers for 2010-2011.

ADJOURNMENT		
There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:23 p.m.		
Kay Manderville Acting Chair Maureen Piercy, Se	ecretary	